Home » Home 3 » Pakistan Muslim League (N)

Pakistan Muslim League (N)

by admin
0 comment

The PTI claims to be the only non-dynastic party in mainstream Pakistani politics, in contrast to parties like the PPP and PML–N.[19] Since 2019, the party has been criticized by political opponents and analysts alike for its failures to address various economic and political issues, particularly the Pakistani economy, which was further weakened in light of the COVID-19 pandemic.[20][21][22] However, Khan and the PTI were later praised for leading the country’s economic

Following the 1985 elections, Pakistan’s Prime Minister Muhammad Khan Junejo organized supporters of President Zia-ul-Haq’s dictatorship into a single party, the Pakistan Muslim League—one of several remaining factions of the original Muslim League.[19] Under Fida Mohammad Khan’s leadership after President Zia’s death in 1988, a significant portion of the Pakistani people broke away from the Junejo-led Pakistan Muslim League and formed the Islamic Democratic Alliance, a conservative alliance with various right-wing and Islamist political parties. In 1990, the alliance put together a government led by Nawaz Sharif. The party took on its current form in 1993, branding itself as the “Nawaz” faction of the Pakistan Muslim League rather than the “Junejo” faction.

After its establishment, the PML-N, alongside Individuals’ Party, overwhelmed the two-party political arrangement of Pakistan.[20] Be that as it may, after the 1999 overthrow, the party was overshadowed by its own splinter group, the Musharraf-supported Pakistan Muslim Association (Quaid), for just about 10 years. PML-N recaptured prevalence in the 2008 general races, when it was chosen as the main resistance. It got back to drive following the appointment of 2013, with Sharif chose as the Top state leader for an uncommon third term. The party anyway confronted a significant mishap following the preclusion of State head Nawaz Sharif in 2017. The circumstance was deteriorated when Sharif and his girl Maryam were condemned to detainment on charges of debasement, but their separate sentences were subsequently suspended.

In the 2018 elections, the party lost both the center and provincial governments of its stronghold Punjab[22] to PTI. Under the leadership of Sharif’s younger brother, Shehbaz, it is the main governing party in Parliament as of 2022.


You may also like

Leave a Comment